New update on ISTQB Expert Level!

Important update: From 1st April 2022 to 31st March 2023 ISTQB® have agreed that the exams for all Expert Level parts can be delivered as multiple-choice question only exams (no essay requirement).

The ISTQB® Expert Level certifications are for individuals who have reached an advanced stage in their software testing career and who wish to further develop their expertise in specific areas.

CTEL-TM and CTEL-ITP certifications require ISTQB® Certified Tester Advanced Level-Test Manager (and ISTQB® Foundation Level) as prerequisites plus at least 5 years of practical testing experience and at least 2 years of industry experience in the specific Expert Level topic.

Exam Structure
Total Points: 35 - Passing Score: 23 - Exam Length: 45 mins - Non-Native Time Bonus: 25%

An ISTQB® Expert Level certification is valid for 7 years.

There are two ISTQB® Expert Level certifications available and each comprise a number of parts for which there are exams:

Test Management (CTEL-TM)

• Strategic Test Management – Part 1
• Operational Test Management – Part 2
• Managing the Test Team –Part 3

Improving the Test Process (CTEL-ITP)
• Assessing Test Processes – Part 1
• Implementing Test Process Improvement – Part 2


Note: there is only one syllabus for CTEL-TM and one for CTEL-ITP (not separate syllabuses for each part).

Further information can be found in the ISTQB® Expert Level Rules & Recommendations. Please be aware that only the Multiple-Choice-Questions rules and the requirements to enter the Expert Level apply here.