A4Q Software Development Engineer in Test

About A4Q Software Development Engineer in Test

The growth of Agile, DevOps, and Continuous Testing has resulted in increasing demand for Software Development Engineer in Test (SDET) skills. SDETs play a significant role in the software development life cycle (SDLC) and are involved in the design, development and testing phases; they have an amalgamation of software development and quality engineering knowledge.

The A4Q SDET Foundation Level certification will support anyone who needs to specifically develop, and attest, to proficiency in the effective selection and use of relevant testing approaches, methods and procedures during the development lifecycle.

A4Q SDET adapts and optimizes the curriculum in the A4Q Testing Foundation for Developers (TF4D) certification developed to teach developers basic skills in testing.
The A4Q TF4D remains a valid for anyone who has already achieved certification and individuals may be grandfathered to A4Q SDET.

This curriculum is specifically aimed at software developers and developers in test. It is also applicable to individuals in the role of Product Owners, Project Managers, Quality Managers, Software Development Managers, Business Analysts, IT Managers or Management Consultants who are seeking to acquire basic testing skills.

A4Q SDET Goals

An SDET is typically a developer who is working in a hybrid role writing code with a focus on testability and the general test infrastructure. The goal of the A4Q SDET Foundation Level certification is to impart basic testing skills to SDETs. It is not intended to “retrain” developers as testers but to increase competence and confidence in effectively selecting and using relevant testing approaches, methods and techniques during the development lifecycle.

Holders of the A4Q SDET certification should be able to:

  • Promote efficient and effective communication by using a common vocabulary for software testing
  • Understand fundamental concepts of software testing
  • Use established black-box techniques for designing tests
  • Use established white-box techniques for designing tests
  • Implement tests according to given test designs
  • Execute implemented tests and report results
  • Improve the quality characteristics of code and architecture by making use of different analysis techniques.


A4Q SDET Curriculum

The A4Q SDET certification defines the testing foundations for SDETs and developers seeking to develop testing and SDET skills. The syllabus is based on the ISTQB® Certified Tester Foundation Level and the ISTQB® Certified Tester Advanced Level Technical Test Analyst of the International Software Testing Qualifications Board (ISTQB®).

The A4Q SDET syllabus covers 4 chapters:

  • Chapter 1: Fundamentals of Testing
  • Chapter 2: Testing Throughout the Software Development Lifecycle
  • Chapter 3: Static Testing
  • Chapter 4: Test Techniques

Please find the Engish syllabus here. The syllabus in German langauge can be downloaded here.


The A4Q SDET exam comprised 40 multiple-choice questions that must be answered in 60 minutes (75 minutes where extra time is allowed for non-native language).

26 points (65%) are required to pass the exam.


How do I obtain this certification?
To be certified you must pass the Software Development in Test exam.

What are the entry requirements?
There are no specific entry requirements to be eligible for this certification or to attend an A4Q accredited training course.

Will I have to attend a course before I sign up for the exam?
No, attending a course is a choice you make at your discretion. However, we strongly recommend that you attend a training course with an accredited training provider to gain maximum benefit and to support skills development.